The way others see us

People have often asked me, “Why do you dress the way you do?” It’s sort of a hard question. I can say tradition because as an African American / Puerto Rican American it’s not my tradition. I grew up in jeans. I wore earrings (rather large ones). I wore tight clothing to accentuate my evolving girlish figure. 

I transformed myself from that to the modest woman I am. From jeans to skirts and jumpers, to cape dresses only. No jewelry, no makeup. No more platform shoes! But why? Because I want to please God. 

“God doesn’t care what I look like”. You may think that but you’d be terribly, horribly wrong. Now when you first discover Christ, you’ll find out that he says come as you are. That part is true but he doesn’t say stay as you are. As you spiritually grow you should want to please God in all areas of your life. That includes wardrobe. 

The reason I stopped wearing pants can be found in Deuteronomy‬ ‭22:5‬. That passage states:“The woman shall not wear that which pertaineth unto a man, neither shall a man put on a woman’s garment: for all that do so are abomination unto the Lord thy God.”

‭In whatever culture you live in, stop wearing what the opposite sex normally wears. “But guys wear kilts”. You don’t see girls wearing kilts. It’s a man tho g so therefore they are not wearing what the opposite sex wears. 

The Bible has a standard for dress for women. “In like manner also, that women adorn themselves in modest apparel, with shamefacedness and sobriety; not with broided hair, or gold, or pearls, or costly array;” 1 Timothy 2:9 KJV

‭We are not to wear jewels nor weave our hair in grand designs. The wealthy women at the time of the Bible would make their hair in grandiose braids and designs which did not bring glory to God, but was rather pretentious. 

  
In fact, I cover my hair in obedience to  scripture. “But every woman that prayeth or prophesieth with her head uncovered dishonoureth her head: for that is even all one as if she were shaven. For if the woman be not covered, let her also be shorn: but if it be a shame for a woman to be shorn or shaven, let her be covered.For this cause ought the woman to have power on her head because of the angels. Judge in yourselves: is it comely that a woman pray unto God uncovered?”            ‭‭1 Corinthians‬ ‭11:5-6, 10, 13‬ ‭KJV‬‬

  
“Whose adorning let it not be that outward adorning of plaiting the hair, and of wearing of gold, or of putting on of apparel; But let it be the hidden man of the heart, in that which is not corruptible, even the ornament of a meek and quiet spirit, which is in the sight of God of great price. For after this manner in the old time the holy women also, who trusted in God, adorned themselves, being in subjection unto their own husbands:” ‭‭1 Peter‬ ‭3:3-5‬ ‭KJV‬‬

So I cover my body and I cover my head according to scripture. 

  


  
  
So anywhoo. Don’t forget to try to please God in all that you do!

Leave a Reply

